C-RAN

Telecom networks

AROONA for Mobile Networks

Cell site upgrade to C-RAN architecture, without changing existing multi-mode fibers

 

Evolutions in 4G LTE require high-bandwidth, high-reliability and low latency radio-access networks (RAN). Such assets can be found in a Centralized-RAN (C-RAN) architecture, through the centralization of the baseband units (BBU). Longer reach (up to 20 km) and higher data rates (up to 10 Gb/s) are required for CPRI transmission between remote radio heads (RRH) and BBUs.

 

When the legacy cell tower is equipped with multi-mode fibers (MMF) between the RRH and the base of the tower, the MMFs are incompatible with long reach transmission. They typically need to be replaced when upgrading the cell tower to C-RAN.

 

AROONA enables C-RAN upgrades for legacy towers without having to change fibers. This passive solution, placed at the tower base, allows the tower’s MMFs to be interfaced to the optical distribution network’s (ODN) single-mode fibers (SMFs).

 

 

AROONA: C-RAN upgrade for a MMF cell tower

 

  • Up to 16 RRH simultaneously upgraded
  • Passive solution to interface tower MMF to ODN SMF: no power consumption
  • One unit at the base of the tower, no installation required at the top of tower
  • Compatible with any communication protocol (CPRI, OBSAI, etc.)

C-RAN

Réseaux télécoms

AROONA pour les réseaux mobiles

Vers une architecture C-RAN, sans changer les fibres multimodes existantes

 

Les évolutions des réseaux 4G/5G LTE nécessitent des réseaux d’accès radio (RAN pour Radio Access Network) avec des bandes passantes élevées, une grande fiabilité et une faible latence. L’architecture Centralized-RAN (C-RAN) présente de tels atouts grâce à la centralisation de ses BBU (BaseBand Units). Une portée plus grande (jusqu’à 20 km) et des débits de données plus élevés (jusqu’à 10 Gb/s) sont requis pour les transmissions au protocole CPRI (Common Public Radio Interface) entre les antennes radio (RRH pour Remote Radio Heads) et les BBUs.

 

Les tours radio d’ancienne génération sont équipées avec des fibres optiques multimodes (MMF) pour transmettre les données aux RRH. Les fibres multimodes ne sont pas compatibles avec les transmissions haut débit visées. Elles doivent généralement être remplacées lors d’une mise à niveau globale de la tour de téléphonie cellulaire pour l’architecture C-RAN.

 

AROONA permet une mise à niveau des tours traditionnelles pour la transition au C-RAN sans avoir à changer la fibre optique. Cette solution passive, placée à la base de la tour, permet d’interfacer les MMF de la tour avec les fibres monomodes (SMF pour Single Mode Fiber) du réseau de distribution optique (ODN pour Optical Distribution Network).

 

 

AROONA: amélioration des MMF des tours de téléphonie cellulaire pour les architectures C-RAN

 

  • Jusqu’à 16 RRH upgradées simultanément
  • Solution passive pour interfacer les MMFs avec le réseau de distribution SMF
  • Aucune consommation d’énergie
  • Un équipement unique au pied de la tour
  • Compatible avec tout type de protocole (CPRI, OBSAI) et de débit (10 Gb/s ou plus)