LiDAR

Remote sensing by laser

Remote sensing by laser, or LiDAR (Light Detection And Ranging) is an active measurement technique that can be performed remotely and in real time. Based on similar principles to radar, LiDAR emits light beams from a laser and analyses the reflected wave. It enables measurement of 3D physical properties such as the distance away of an object, wind speed, air temperature and pressure as well as numerous other more specific characteristics of air or of materials.

LiDAR applications are just as varied as the available data. Top-of-the-range LiDAR systems are for example used near airport runways or wind turbines for wind measurements, yet, in a completely different field, it is possible to use LiDARs in agrology where they can be used to analyze crops and optimize the distribution of fertilizers thus preserving the soil and the environment while increasing crop yields. In reality, LiDARs cover practically all application fields, whether civilian or military.

 

However, LiDAR technology is subject to two main limitations resulting from the propagation of light in the atmosphere. Firstly, light is absorbed, which leads to a loss of power and hence in the range of the beam. Secondly, light waves that propagate in the air are affected by atmospheric turbulence. The latter influences the phase and the intensity of the light beam as a result of inhomogeneity and constant movements of the air. This phenomenon also causes a loss of power when the signal is received and consequently also limits the range. In particular, the atmospheric turbulence may cause loss of information during measurement.

 

 

Thanks to its TILBA solution, Cailabs enables:

  • To increase the range and robustness of optical measurements in the atmosphere.
  • Where transmission is concerned, to optimally combine a large number of sources to economically increase the transmission power.
  • Where reception is concerned, to limit the influence of atmospheric turbulence on the optical measurement.

LiDAR

Télédétection par Laser

La télédétection par Laser, ou LiDAR (pour Light Detection And Ranging) est une technique de mesure active à distance et en temps réelle. De principe similaire au Radar, le LiDAR émet des faisceaux lumineux par laser et analyse l’onde réfléchie. Il permet la mesure 3D propriétés physiques comme la distance d’un objet, la vitesse du vent, la température ou la pression de l’air ainsi de nombreuses autres caractéristiques plus spécifiques de l’air ou de la matière.

 

Les applications du LiDAR sont aussi variées que les données disponibles. Des LiDAR hauts de gamme sont par exemple déployés près des pistes d’aéroports ou des éoliennes pour la mesure du vent mais dans un domaine totalement différent on peut aussi des LiDARs sont utilisés en agrologie où ils permettent d’analyser les cultures et d’optimiser la distribution de fertilisants préservant ainsi les sols et l’environnement tout en augmentant les rendements. Les LiDARs couvrent en réalité pratiquement tous les champs d’applications qu’ils soient civils ou militaires.

 

Cependant, la technologie LiDAR subit deux limitations principales dues à la propagation de la lumière dans l’atmosphère. D’abord, la lumière est absorbée, ce qui entraîne une perte de puissance, et donc de portée du faisceau. D’un autre côté, les ondes lumineuses, qui se propagent dans l’air, sont impactées par les turbulences atmosphériques. Celles-ci, causées par l’inhomogénéité et les mouvements permanents de l’air, influent sur la phase et l’intensité du faisceau lumineux. Ce phénomène entraîne de nouveau une perte de puissance au niveau de la réception du signal et donc une nouvelle limitation de portée. Surtout, ces perturbations peuvent entraîner des pertes d’information lors de la mesure.

 

Grâce à la solution TILBA proposée par Cailabs, nous permettons :

  • D’augmenter la portée et la robustesse des mesures optiques dans l’atmosphère.
  • A l’émission, de combiner un grand nombre de sources de manière optimale pour augmenter la puissance d’émission de manière économique.
  • A la réception, de limiter l’influence des perturbations atmosphériques sur la mesure optique.